Upcoming Events

The Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award

2015 honorees Raymond Learsy and Melva Bucksbaum 
photo courtesy of Patrick McMullan

The Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts award was established in 1993 to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of professional women in the visual arts with an annual honor. In 2003, as a special gesture to ArtTable and the leading women it honors, Louise Bourgeois created an unnumbered edition sculpture to represent the Award for Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts. EYE (cast bronze and silver nitrate with a polished patina) is cast each year in commendation to our awardee.
Recipients of ArtTable's Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award
Kitty Carlisle Hart 1993
Agnes Gund 1994
Emily Rauh Pulitzer 1995
Dianne Pilgrim 1996
Joan Mondale 1997
Stephanie French 1998
Lucy Lippard 1999
Marcia Tucker 2000
Paula Cooper 2001
Iris Cantor 2002
Linda Nochlin 2003
Elizabeth C. Baker 2004
Elizabeth A. Sackler 2006
Emily K. Rafferty 2007
Vishakha N. Desai 2008
Toby Devan Lewis 2009
Yoko Ono 2010
Lila Harnett 2011
Patricia E. Harris 2012
Patricia Phelps de Cisneros 2013
Marguerite Steed Hoffman 2014
Melva Bucksbaum and Raymond Learsy 2015 
Marieluise Hessel 2016
Lowery Stokes Sims 2017